Our MVP Kids®

AboutBanner-1.jpg

Grow up with Our Mvp Kids!

Our MVP Kids represent a wide range of ethnic and cultural diversity and are the stars of our products. The sixteen MVP Kids, along with their parents, siblings, and other family members, make up twelve families. An important goal of establishing our MVP Kids throughout the product lines is to create familiarity and friendship for readers, a basis of trust to address serious life issues and challenges in products for maturing children.


Gabby.jpg

Gabby González

“Hola! My name is Gabriela González, but you can call me Gabby. I am part of a large family that lives on a farm in Royce County. My Abuela (Grandma) runs Esperanza Stables, an equine therapy center. I’ve lived here since I was born and love being around the horses. My mom and dad moved here from Mexico when Mamá was pregnant with me. I’m outgoing, love making new friends, and I’m home-schooled by my mom, which gives me unique opportunities to learn new skills and serve our community.”

Lucas.jpg

Lucas Miller

“My name is Lucas. My family has a small farm in the country. We have three dogs, two goats, and one turtle. My mom and dad are foster parents, so we have a lot of kids who come to stay with our family. Some of the kids only stay for a little while, but my parents adopted four kids, which means they are part of our family forever! I like having a big, loud bunch of brothers and sisters to play with. My brother LeBron is the same age as I am. I enjoy gardening and playing outside.”

LeBron.jpg

LeBron Miller

“Hi! I’m LeBron. I love to explore outside with my brother Lucas. We’re the same age, but we don’t look alike because I was adopted. My sister Jada was, too, and we share a special bond. I like it when our family has new foster children because I know they will feel safe with us. It’s good to feel safe. I love to play with my pet turtle, Speedy. I’m quieter than most of my family, but that’s because I’m always thinking. I like to analyze a situation before I get involved, and I always look for ways to help people.”

Aanya.jpg

Aanya Patel

“My name is Aanya Patel. I am an only child. My parents moved to Alexander Plains from India. I was born with severe hearing loss and received a cochlear implant just before my first birthday. I know and use American Sign Language. I have an orange and white cat named Neela. My mother started Patel Child Care, which specializes in caring for children with challenges and supporting their families. I help her before and after school and get to see most of my best friends there every day!”

Miriam.jpg

Miriam Nasser

“Hello! I’m Miriam. My family comes from the Middle East. My dad’s side is from Saudi Arabia, and mom’s side is from Egypt. I like growing up with so many cultures, but sometimes it feels hard to balance and be sure of who I am. I love to tell stories and read books. I had to act out all my stories. My little sister, Sara, really liked that! I worry a lot. I think it’s because I care so much about people, and I don’t want anything bad to happen. My dad says it’s because I’m so full of imagination.”

Yong.jpg

Yong Chen

“Ni Hao! Hello! My name is Yong Chen. My mom, dad and older sister moved from China to La Paz City when my mother was pregnant with me. My grandfather moved here later and started his restaurant where he and my mom work. I enjoy all the sights, sounds, and smells of the kitchen and someday hope to be a chef! I really like to practice Kung Fu and watch The Amazing Buddy Hero on TV. I have a dog named Luna.”

Julia.jpg

Julia Rojas

“Hi! My name is Julia. My family comes from South America. My dad is from Chile and my mom is from Brazil. I also have a little brother who is three years younger than I. All four of us really like soccer. We play it any chance we get! My mom volunteers at the La Paz City Medical Clinic and often takes us to volunteer with her. I meet great new friends there. My parents say I’m a natural leader. Outside of soccer, I enjoy art and graphic design..”

Leo.jpg

Leo Russo

“Hi! My name is Leonardo, but everyone calls me Leo. I was adopted by my aunt and uncle when I was two, after my parents were killed in a car accident. I do everything with my best friend brother, Frankie. I love cars and race my remote control car often. I have a condition called cerebral palsy that makes it hard for me to walk, so you might see me using a walker or crutches to get around places. I enjoy equine therapy, and I know that when I grow up I want to help kids who are like me. I’ve had more challenges and sorrows in my life than most kids, but I think that’s part of what makes me strong.” 

Frankie.jpg

Frankie Russo

“Hi! I’m Frankie. I spend most of my time hanging out with my best friend brother, Leo. My mom and dad really inspire me to care for others. My mom taught me that kindness and love are the best way to treat others. My dad is a policeman, and I love hearing his stories about how he helps people. I also have a younger brother named Junior who is three years younger than I. My grandma, Nona, lives with us now, and she has a cat named Ziti. I’ve played baseball, and I enjoy going to the park to play football with my friends.”

Sarah.jpg

Sarah Cohen-Goldstein

“My name is Sarah. I live in La Paz City with my mom, stepdad, and three siblings. My dad passed away when I was two and my mom remarried. My grandfather lives in Israel. We video call him most nights. I’m a really hard worker and work hard to achieve my goals. Sometimes I compare myself to others and feel insecure. But my stepdad has helped me work on that a lot. I love playing basketball and have been best friends with Julia ever since first grade.”

Liam.jpg

Liam Johnson

“Hi! I’m Liam. I’m the middle child in my family. I have an older sister and a younger sister. Both of them really like gymnastics, but I prefer Kung Fu. I’m usually pretty shy around people when I first meet them, but I love how different people can be. My dad is African American and my mom is Russian, so “different” is normal in my family. I enjoy spending time in my tree fort and hanging out with my friends.”

Olivia.jpg

Olivia Wagner

“Hello! My name is Olivia. I love art! I take every opportunity to create something new. I live in the suburbs with my parents and two of my sisters. My youngest sister, Marie, has Down syndrome and we all learn a lot from her. My third sister, Lucy, lives just down the street from us with her husband. She’s fourteen years older than I and already has kids, which makes me an aunt!!”

Faith.jpg

Faith Jordan

“Hello! My name is Faith. I love to sing and dance! My mom and dad say that I have a natural talent for music. Someday I want to be famous and perform on stage. I have a big heart for serving others and do what I can to help people. I have one sister and three brothers. Ezekiel is my identical twin brother. Even though he’s a little bit older than me, I’ve always been a little bit taller. During spring break each year, we go camping on the beach. We like to roast marshmallows, compete in the annual kids’ sandcastle contest, and be together as a family.”

Ezekiel.jpg

Ezekiel Jordan

“My name is Ezekiel. I’m Faith’s older twin. I live in the suburbs of Alexander Plains with my mom, dad, two sisters, and two brothers. My little brother Malik has autism, which means he struggles with some things other kids don’t struggle with, but he is also really smart and has a photographic memory. My dad is in the Marines, so he is gone a lot. But whenever he is home, I love to play football and basketball with him.
I enjoy learning new things and work hard to be the best I can be!”

Annie.jpg

Annie James

“Hi! I’m Annie. I live on a ranch with my family. We have all sorts of animals on our ranch, like goats, cattle, chickens, and more. I love to meet new people, and I try to say “hello” to everyone when I’m at the grocery store or the playground. My parents tell me that’s because I have an outgoing personality! My dad is from Texas and my mom is from South Korea. I really enjoy celebrating our Korean heritage during the Lunar New Year or just making tasty Korean food.”

 
Blake.jpg

Blake James

“My name is Blake. I enjoy making people laugh with silly jokes and pranks. I’m not really that interested in playing sports, but I love to build things! Whether it’s working with wood, construction toys, or circuits, I’ve always had a knack for putting things together. My dad builds houses, and sometimes I get to go along to help on his projects. We live on a ranch in the country and have a lot of animals. My favorite is my dog, Tyson.”